Bayern Ace Mane Defends Controversial Handball Call Against Inter

Inter could have gained a goal advantage in just under 10 minutes after kick-off against Bayern Munich, but the Nerazzurri were denied an outright penalty after Sadio Mane’s handball was overlooked following a lengthy VAR review by referee Ivan Kruzliak.

Inter went on to concede goals from Benjamin Pavard and Eric Choupo-Moting to lose 2-0 in a rather inconsequential final group game of the UEFA Champions League. Mane has now come forward to defend his action, saying he would have been severely injured had he not raised his hands.

“If I do not raise my hands I go to the hospital, it is not a penalty,” he said in his post-match interview (via FCInterNews).

Bayern coach Julian Nagelsmann was a bit more diplomatic in his reaction regarding the incident.

“I think you can give it as a penalty. The referee knows the rules, he watched the scene for two and a half minutes and made his decision, then that’s it.”

Mane blocked a shot with his hands outright in front of his face, but Kruzliak indicated that he denied a spot-kick for the visitors because the Senegal striker was trying to protect his face from Nicolo Barella’s long-range effort.

Follow us on Google News for more updates on Serie A and Italian football