Messi Beats Lewandowski and Jorginho to Win Ballon d’Or

Winning the Euro and the Champions League was not enough for Jorginho to take home the Ballon d’Or. The Chelsea midfielder finished third. Lionel Messi won the award for the seventh time, besting Robert Lewandowski.

Jorginho commented: “It was truly a fantastic season, and I am happy and proud of myself and of what my two teams achieved. We did an extraordinary job, and I am truly grateful for that.” Gianluigi Donnarumma cracked the top ten and won the Yashin Award as the best goalkeeper of the season.

The 22-year-old declared: “It was an incredible year for me, from the Champions League qualification with Milan to the Euro. We gave joy to the whole Italy and ourselves. Then, I moved to PSG, and I was very proud of that. It was a sign of destiny because they always followed him. I thank them for their trust and every person that helped me get here. I am still young and have a lot to learn. This accomplishment is the fruit of the daily work.”

As for the other Azzurri, Nicolò Barella concluded in 26th position. Juventus veterans Leonardo Bonucci and Giorgio Chiellini were 13th and 14th. The Bianconeri captain commented: “I am truly honored and I thank who voted me. It is the coronation of what we achieved with Italy over the summer along with my teammates, but also of many years of victories with Juventus.”

As far as Serie A representatives were concerned, Lautaro Martinez came in at the 21st spot and the highly acclaimed Simon Kjaer at the 18th. Romelu Lukaku finished 11th and Cristiano Ronaldo 6th.